Role Playing

To quote from the delightful Maria from the Sound of Music “Let’s start at the very beginning, it’s a very good place to start…” and that’s what I intend to do.

My writing ventures began properly at the tender age of fifteen (that makes me sound a lot older than I really am) with role playing. For those who don’t know, role playing is the act of taking on the role of a character and portraying it to create stories with one or more people. Well, that’s it in the simplest of senses anyway; depending on how serious you take it and how important it is to you then it varies so much. And it was something I stumbled on over a summer where I was bored and hoped the internet would entertain me.

I had always enjoyed (and been quite good at, if I do say so myself) writing. I read a lot and had quite an active imagination, and looking back at it now it seemed like it was always the natural extension for me. But I never wrote properly. I always would lose motivation or the sense of purpose; I was young, I wasn’t looking to get published, what was the point? Stumbling across role playing, however, cleared that up for me. Essentially, it provided me with an audience.

There is quite a bit of stigma that surrounds role playing, and that’s role playing in any form. Live action role play, the little steamy bedroom sessions, and writing. Even now where I don’t hide the fact that I am a role player I am not so open about it either. Why open yourself up to judgement about something you enjoy so much? That’s how I see it anyway. If somebody was to show a genuine interest in my writing it might be different but even that I keep to myself a lot.

Discovering role play has helped a lot when it comes to write standalone pieces. It’s provided me with a means of expressing my own original characters, it’s given me a community to share with and be inspired by, it has certainly helped improve my writing skills immensely and I still have a lot to learn. Even though I do become frustrated and want to take myself away from the community that exists, I can’t. For as long as I decide to write I will likely role play. Everyday I learn something new about a character, about the things I love to see in the stories I create, and about myself as a writer. I love it and I don’t think I could give that up for anything.

I don’t look to get published for anything I write and that maybe why role playing appeals to me so much: it allows me to do something I love without any of the pressure. It may not be for everyone but it’s like home to me. It’s where I grew up.

Here’s a link to the last finished piece of mine: https://www.facebook.com/notes/shay-shaubae/aowndosano-idk-what-to-call-this/175472149555517

That might be it for tonight before I ramble too much. If you read this then well done you for getting through my nonsense. My contact information is on my welcome page or leave your opinions. If you are a writer or even role player then don’t hesitate to get in touch!

Ciao my Lovely Little Turtles,

-Shay

 

 

Leave a Reply

